FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners and Profiles

The proverbial Golden Boot is an award and acknowledgment given to the player who scores the most goals in a football tournament, namely the World Cup. There are also golden boot awards (sometimes referred to as golden shoe awards) in the Europeandivisions.

2010 Thomas Muller Germany 5
2006 Klose Germany 5
2002 Ronaldo Brazil 8
1998 Davor Suker Croatia 6
1994 Oleg Salenko Russia 6
Hristo Stoichkov Bulgaria
1990 Salvatore Schillaci Italy 6
1986 Gary Lineker England 6
1982 Paolo Rossi Italy 6
1978 Mario Kempes Argentina 6
1974 Grzegorz Lato Poland 7


Gerd Müller Germany 10
1966 Eusebio Portugal 9
1962 Florian Albert Hungary 4
Garrincha Brazil
Valentin Ivanov USSR
Drazan Jerkovic Yugoslavia
Leonel Sanchez Chile
Vava Brazil
1958 Just Fontaine France 13
1954 Sandor Kocsis Hungary 11
1950 Marques Ademir Brazil 7
1938 Leonidas da Silva Brazil 8
1934 *Oldrich Nejedly Czechoslovakia 5
1930 Guillermo Stabile Argentina 8

*Oldrich Nejedly’s tally was revised to five goals by FIFA in 2006 making him the outright winner. He previously shared the award with Edmund Conen (Germany) and Angelo Schiavio (Italy) on four goals.

Comments are closed.